Natural Hair Care – My Fight with Seborrheic Dermatitis

I recently wrote a blog post about my love affair with coconut oil here. I wanted to talk a little more about my background to how I came to discover the wonders of natural skin care.

Now, lets start at the beginning… Since I was about 12 or 13 I’ve had a skin condition called Seborrheic Dermatitis. This condition meant that I would suffer with an extremely itchy, flaky, bleeding and sore scalp. As a child I had suffered with Eczema but I was always able to treat it with cream. With Seborrheic Dermatitis I just couldn’t find a product that helped me. I went on numerous trips to the doctors, I probably saw about 7 or 8 doctors both in my home town and at university over the next 10 years. I bought many shampoos over the counter, as well as being prescribed various different shampoos including:

Alphosyl

Nizoral

T/Sal

Selsun

Nioxin

Sulfur and Tar Shampoo

Ketoconazole Shampoo

Capasal ‘Therapeutic’ Shampoo

Some of these worked for a short period of time but I was never rid of the problem. As a teenager this meant that I absolutely hated going to the hair dressers as I was so embarrassed about the condition. Little did I know that this could all have been avoided had I swapped the nasty chemicals being prescribed by the doctors with natural shampoos!

I saw the ‘Naked’ hair care range when shopping in Boots and thought I’d give it a go. I absolutely loved this stuff, my scalp suddenly felt fine, I wasn’t having to deal with build up on my scalp and sore bleed sores for the first time in about 10 years! To make matters better it is completely paraben and SLES free, as well as being Vegan and Cruelty free. It truly changed the whole way that I think about skin care and hair care products. Unfortunately the ‘Naked’ range has since been discontinued which is such a shame. I have however found an alternative:

5196etp4dql-_ac_ul320_sr226320_

I must admit, I don’t absolutely love the conditioner but the shampoo does just what I need it to without any nasty chemicals! This range is also cruelty free, paraben free and suitable for vegans. You can buy this product online, it is also stocked in certain shops (in Brighton I’ve seen it in Infinity Foods). I’d definitely recommend the shampoo, however I’d like to try out some other natural conditioners to help deal with my frizz problem!

Of course, using all natural shampoos may not work for everyone but I definitely recommend trying it as in my experience it means you aren’t creating build up in your hair. This has all brought me to my stance on skin care and hair care products to date. When I buy a product I ask myself mainly two questions:

  • Has it got nasty chemicals in this product? Am I happy to absorb the ingredients into my body?
  • Have any animals suffered in the process of creating this product?

Although, generally I buy the pure ingredients when it comes to moisturisers (coconut oil, unrefined shea butter, argan oil, aloe vera from my own aloe vera plant, etc.) and add essential oils.

I hope that this has been of some benefit to you, as focusing on natural skin care has done so much for my skin. Please leave a comment if you’ve found this helpful!

Natural moisturiser and scrub recipes to follow…

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Natural Skin Care and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

